Stand Still

Stop, where ever you are, just stop, and stand still.  Close your eyes, take a deep breath and become aware of what’s happening.  Let yourself stop thinking.

You are never more essentially, more deeply, yourself than when you are still – Eckhert Tolle

We kinda need that from time to time, don’t we?  To stop thinking, stop being and stop doing so we can be still within ourselves.  To be present in the moment, because no other time exists other than right now.   Sometimes I have to remind myself to do this ’cause I make myself so busy with things that aren’t really all that important.

My favorite place to be still is outdoors.  Breathing fresh air in deeply and exhaling slowly.  With my eyes closed, I listen.  Listen to my heart beat and sounds around me.  Feeling the warmth of the sun or the cold of the season on my skin.  I listen and feel without thinking.  Not an easy thing to do at first but it becomes easier with practice.

About a week ago, I walked out of a building at night and looked up into the sky.  It was a beautiful night and the sky seemed to be colored with dark purples and deep blues edged with blackness.  There were a few clouds out and a half-moon which glowed with a luminosity of which I can’t remember seeing before.  It stopped me in my tracks and I stood still in complete awe.

I didn’t try to take a photo of it or capture the moment anywhere but in my mind.  I just stood still.  It felt like time stopped and there were no minutes or seconds ticking away.  I realized I need to have more moments like that.  Moments where not only time stands still but where I stand still with it.  Where I’m able to connect with myself.

I find myself getting caught up in everyday routines.  Making sure everyone else has what they want or need and rarely take time to stop or be still.  Do you ever wake up early in the morning and hear nothing?  The quiet or the stillness is easy to hear and feel.  The buzzing in your ears from the nothingness, for me that’s the sound of the energy all around me.  That energy is either positive or negative, the choice is mine to make.

More often than not, I’m already consumed with thoughts when I wake up.  Either my own or the voices of everyone else telling me what I should or shouldn’t be doing or thinking or feeling.  Many times, I’ll do what someone else wants just to make them happy, even if it doesn’t make me happy.  I really need to stop doing that.  If I stand still and listen to myself (trust myself) then I know the right choice will be made.  Sometimes it’s not even about making a choice, it’s just a way to get back to me.

A way to get back to a more peaceful and positive me that is aware of what’s happening around and within me.

Until next week…hint-it’s all photo’s of a little sassy pants lady I’m spending this week with, who steals my heart and brings me sunshine all year-long.

9 thoughts on “Stand Still

Leave a Reply

