Dear Winter

img_2326

Dear Winter,

You had always been magical to me.  You had a rare beauty unrivaled by others and I remember fondly all the activities we’ve shared together over the years.  Snowball fights, ice skating, snowmobiling, snow angels, frozen fingers and toes.  As much as this pains me to say, I believe it’s best for me to see other seasons.

It’s not you, it’s me.  I feel like I’m the one changing and your unwillingness to provide more sunshine makes me feel like we would be better apart.  My arthritis plays a big part in my decision to end this love affair.  Every time you come around, I’m literally in pain.  The pain causes exhaustion and the exhaustion leads to the blues.

Also, I didn’t want to have to say this but I want to be very honest with you, you do at least deserve that from me.  Frankly, you’ve become dangerous and messy.  You’ve let yourself go.  The bitter cold and ice wreaks havoc on my ability to even walk outside.  You leave dirty snow banks all over the place and refuse to clean up after yourself.  I can’t be the only one who puts effort into this relationship.  The magic is gone.

Pretending to keep our love alive would be a lie and would eventually make us both miserable.   You deserve someone who will appreciate all that you have to offer and I’m just not that person anymore.  I hope in time we’ll be able to remain friends.

Best Wishes,

Aimee

P.S.  We’ll always have Christmas

13 thoughts on “Dear Winter

    1. Pretty sure my ancestors took a wrong turn somewhere after getting off the Mayflower. Of course that could also explain why I have no sense of direction and end up lost quite often. 😄

      Like

    1. Thanks 😊. I think the constant grey skies are what are starting to drive me mad. Occasionally I see a sunrise rise but the clouds quickly roll in and make themselves comfortable. They’ve overstayed their welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is the perfect letter to send to winter. I am already wondering how I am going to make it to my chicken coop tomorrow morning. Our ice storm has come to pass and it is like a skating rink out there. Aaaah winter……you cruel cruel season.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

