My Christmas Spirit

img_2176
This is the extent of our decorations this year because of the move, sad right?

No tree, no decorations, no mountain of wrapped gifts, no over abundance of sweets but yet here I am filled with Christmas spirit and good will.  I’m excitedly waiting for Christmas morning.  I’m filled with anticipation to see the look  of pure joy on the face of my sassy little grand-daughter.  Every year I have to make the sacrifice of who I spend the holiday with.  I hate that I have to do that.  Both my children and granddaughter live in Tennessee and my husband and his family are here in Michigan.

If I want to see my kids (which is a no brainer) I have to leave my husband and we already spend an enormous amount of time apart because of his job.  So every other year, for the past 8 years,  I travel the 600 miles to be wrapped in the comfort of my own family while my husband stays here with his teenage daughter.  And every year, no matter what I choose, it makes me sad and happy both at the same time.

I’m so excited to laugh, giggle, eat, sleep and goof off with my kids that I can’t hardly stand it.  My son is notorious for giving me a hard time, between his quick wit and sarcasm, he keeps me on my toes.  He’s grown into an impressive young man, serving time in the Navy reserves, working multiple jobs at the same time to support himself, taking college courses and marrying a sweet young lady.

My daughter is equally as impressive.  She sacrificed time with her own daughter to put herself through school to become a medical assistant and now works as an intake nurse for an orthopedic surgeons office in Nashville.  She also is married to a great guy and she takes very good care of her own little family.  She keeps me in stitches with her clumsiness and random blonde moments.  And y’all know how crazy I am about my lil’ miss sassy pants grand daughter, Livi.

Because we are in the middle of moving we have no decorations up…zero, nada, none, not one.  So it occurred to me that having all that prettiness around me isn’t what puts me in the Christmas spirit,  what puts me in the Christmas spirit is being wrapped up in the love and comfort of my family and the anticipation of all of us being together.  Maybe it’s because of my age, maybe it’s because of the sacrifice I make each year, I don’t know what it is but every year I don’t have the luxury of being with my husband and kids both.  I don’t get to take that for granted,  I have to make a choice.  Which is why the best gift and part of Christmas, to me, has now become time.

The time spent with family around and the memories we make, decorations or not.  We may not have any decorations up but the neighbors do!  One of my favorite things about Christmas is driving around at night to see the light shows other people have put up on their own homes.  And have I mentioned the videos online of extreme holiday lights!   I love watching ’em.  Check ’em out if you have time.  I hope you all have a Merry everything this year and have the luxury of being with everyone you love!  God Bless

11 thoughts on “My Christmas Spirit

Leave a Reply

