Dining Table Transformed

Check out how cool it looks now, it went from EH to HEYY!  I think these dining sets were a classic look for so many people.  I don’t know of anyone who didn’t have one or at the very least, know someone else who did.

A garage sale find, solid oak classic farmhouse style

I stripped off the polyurethane and sanded it down to bare wood.  I like the star burst pattern on the table top and it has a 24″ leaf so it expands to six feet long.  Gather round friends!

Sanded down to bare wood and the rescue is under way

Now you can see the pattern and I finished the base in a simple solid black which will easily blend with different decor styles.  The chairs got the same treatment and then I applied Minwax red chestnut stain on the seats.

The two-tone is a nice touch, with the seats a red chestnut stain
The same red chestnut stain on the table top…1st coat and 2nd coat

The second coat of stain helped bring out a nice color and the pattern shows up nicely but I wasn’t quite happy with the look so I added an ebony stain over top of that and achieved a cool custom finish.  It looks brown in the photo but it actually has a red under tone to it in person I wish I could have captured that in the photo.

Ta-Daaa  My hard work paid off and now I have a beautifully updated farmhouse look

img_1430

What do ya think?  Yay or Nay?  What’s your style preference…modern, mission, traditional, french country, rustic or something entirely different?  I’ve always liked having something unlike anyone else, I don’t know what style that is but it describes me perfectly.  If I was going to keep this set for myself, I would have used a deep blue stain on the top and seats, now that would have been my kind of cool.

 

20 thoughts on “Dining Table Transformed

    1. Thank you. I think I love the hunt as much as I do restoring them. For me the pieces need to be a solid wood as opposed to the particle board with a veneer on it they sell now-a-days.

      Like

  1. Your transformation is amazing! I love the shine on those chairs! Personally, i wouldn’t have used black, just because it doesn’t go with my colour scheme, but it looks really good, you should be proud of yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

