Because I’m Worth It

I’m very kind to others, maybe too kind to some.  (Some people don’t make it easy) But am I kind to myself?  Could I show more concern for my own well-being and will that come across as vanity or a high self esteem?

img_0643Sometimes I think my inner critic is an a**hole!  I hear it tell me that I’m never gonna get that flippin’ banana bread recipe right.  I should just quit and never try again.  My inner critic tells me I’m not good enough, fast enough, young enough, pretty enough, smart enough (see I told it was a jerk). Any time that critic starts up it pushes me to prove it wrong.  I AM good enough, fast enough, pretty enough (well at least cute enough), smart enough and middle age isn’t terrible.

Don’t we all occasionally have thoughts like that??  Nod your head with me, I remind myself that there are plenty of people willing, able and ready to be unkind to me so how do I combat that?  By being kinder to myself, doing something nice for myself and removing toxic people from my life.  We should all be easy on ourselves because we’re worth it.  Kindness is defined as the quality of being friendly, generous and considerate.  Kindness is also contagious.

img_0013Sometimes I buy myself little gifts instead of waiting for someone else to.  I love fresh flowers so I head to Costco and buy myself some. I bring them home and put ’em in a pretty vase and just admire.  Then my husband comes home and wants to know who sent me flowers, it’s kinda cute to see he gets a little jealous still.  Hmmm, I wonder what he would say if I wrote myself a note?? That’s probably weird, isn’t it?

We say affirmations in our head or have little notes with positive sayings. We give ourselves pep talks.  We have wall plagues with pretty quotes and we even have that voice of our mother in our head that says, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything”.  Right? Didn’t your mom teach you that?  She was right ya know, make sure you practice that on yourself as well.  Be kind to you and you’re better prepared to give kindness to others.  One person at a time we can all become kinder and more compassionate.

This post is part of a kindness challenge and is week 1.  Wanna participate? Click the link.

17 thoughts on “Because I’m Worth It

  1. What a lovely thoughtful post. And yay to buying yourself flowers! I like to think of self-kindness as being an act of self-responsibility. If no other being were kind to us, we could still bask in the kindness we offered ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Why is it we are willing to gives ourselves less leeway than we do any other person in our lives? I tell people to be kind to themselves every day, yet am too often terrible at following my own advice. Thank you for the reminder. Go, you, on the flowers, BTW, and thanks for sharing their loveliness with us. Your post was the first thing I read today, and it was a colorful start to an overcast day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Wendy, you always have such nice things to say and I sure do appreciate it! Your kindness is remarkable. I think we all have a tendency to put ourselves on the back burner while we take care of everything else, so go get yourself some flowers today (if that’s your thing). You deserve it too!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. It seems impossible to remove all the toxic people from one’s orbit (or, it just might make for lonely lunchtimes some days). Sometimes I have to remind myself that the toxic person isn’t the entire problem, my reaction — my anger, my sadness, my frustration, did I mention anger? — is MY problem, not theirs. Ram Dass and other teachers always remind us that the greatest teachers we encounter are often the worst people we encounter. Toxic people teach us more about how we are the masters of our own happiness … or unhappiness.

    All that said, there still are some people, when they show up, you just gotta close the window, pull the blind, hide behind the sofa, and pretend there’s no one home when they knock on the door.

    Sweet post … πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm I didn’t think of it that way. You make some valid point as I do try so hard to keep my emotions in check around them. The last thing I want to do is engage with that person but sometimes my facial expression give me away. Those are the people I try to love from a distance. A very very long distance!

      Like

  4. You are right. If asked to name a thing one loves, anyone would rarely ever say themselves. We are made to think that love is only towards entities other than oneself. This is such a lovely post, thank you for this excellent reminded πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There’s a reason they tell you to secure your mask before assisting others on the airplane. I am definitely a believer that you have to take care of yourself before taking care of others – and that includes being kind! It’s important to strive to be the very best version of yourself so you can offer that to other people – glad to hear you are taking steps towards that – you deserve it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a beautiful post! What can you do to stop your inner critic in its tracks? No need to reply, just something to consider. I love that you buy yourself flowers! The title is a beautiful on its own, you are worth it Aimee! Can’t wait to see how this progresses over the weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

