Front Porches

I miss them.  They were so inviting and welcoming.  What a great place to hang out and do nothing or everything.  I love the covered porches that have plenty of room for a swing, small table and chairs and lots of plants and flowers.  It’s the perfect room in any house!  I want one, I need one, I gotta have one!!

image

imageIt’s the magical place where anything can happen from romance, seedy gossip, family talks or neighborly chats.  I just read an article in Country Living Magazine where a city in Georgia has a community that is bringing back front porches and I couldn’t be happier.  As a matter fact, each new home-built in that community is required to have a front porch.  I would love that requirement, heck can I get a clothesline in the backyard too?

Covered porches are those wonderful rooms that aren’t really rooms but still function as an extension of the house.  It’s the first place you see coming home and the last view you have when leaving.  It’s that,  “Ahhhhh, I’m home!”, moment we all love.  That’s where you go when the weather starts warming up just ’cause you NEED to be outside after having been stuck inside all winter.  That long, cold winter that everyone is over as soon as Christmas is finished with, that’s when you want to be back outside, in the warmth of the sun.  Go away winter, you’ve had your fun!

The over sized porch swing where you can read a favorite book, take a nap or have intimate discussions and snuggle time with your honey.  There can be a little seating area with a small table and chairs to drink your morning coffee and wave a howdy do to the neighbors.  It’s a place to rock the grand baby to sleep as the wind blows in warm air to help lull them to sleep.  It’s the perfect place to sit in the gentle rain as the world takeimages a shower.  Listening and watching the rain fall can be as hypnotic as watching a fire burn.  Get yourself a little heater and blanket and you’re all set to be cozy and warm on a chilly evening with friends.  A front porch is where time slows down.

If I could put a covered front porch on my house and a clothesline in my backyard I would be content.  There’s nothing that smells quite so refreshing as clothes that have been dried in the sun, the freshness, the crispness and I swear they seem brighter.  I can’t quite describe the smell but if you’ve had your clothes dried on a line you would know. Wonderful, and that’s all I have to say about that.

We need to bring front porches back to communities.  We need to get to know our neighbors and work on that all important “Howdy Neighbor” wave.  Just to be able to take a moment while sitting with your honey and enjoying a cold drink, now that sounds like a perfect memory in the making.  Oh the stories that could be told on the good ol’ front porch as the world rushes by.

35 thoughts on “Front Porches

  1. I love them too, that first one pictured would be my choice. It seems as though they are more common in the south, most of my relatives in Biloxi and Lucedale had them but not so much here in my part of Texas. We hang out on the patio instead. I miss the interaction with neighbors though, so I’m working on creating a porch-like space in the front yard.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Make the best of what ya got, is what I always say and it sounds like you’re doing just that! We have moved to a more country location and I now have a little covered front porch and couldn’t be happier. It may be small but it’s big on charm.
      I think the charm of the covered porch is making a come back and I hope it never goes away again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have the next best thing: a screened in porch since I live in a three story condo. My cats can go outside safely and lue about in the sun. I sometimes eat breakfast out there to commune with a small tree and listen to the birds. I love my porch!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember you mentioning you loved front porches. What a great way to counter the techno-gadget isolationist movement. That should be a rule in the community that demands front porches. I want to build one on our back deck with a fireplace and a water feature. I’d make it adaptable so I could add panels and make it a three season room when it get too cold. Another reason to finish the Wmstn house 🙂 Nice piece Aimee.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve always loved the US Front Porch style. Watching them in films, on TV shows and country music video’s. Life seems to be lived on your front porch. You are lucky enough to have them so I think you are right, bring them back!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for sharing your views from / about the porch. You got me thinking about my own similar experiences (although this did take place on our patio). I remember listening to long ago radio broadcasts of baseball games with my father… our talking about life while waiting for the Detroit Tigers to score some home runs… the sound of crickets… the subtle fizzing in my can of cola… the June Beetles pinging against the screen door. Glad I found your website… I will be following your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for finding me and following. Sounds like great memories for you and your dad. I have to listen to the Tigers now because my husband is a big fan. If we’re not at the game then it’s playing on TV or a radio.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I love front porches! ❤ The only time I lived at a house was in my college years and we had a small porch…empty…but we would take our chairs out in the summer and just sip our coffees in the morning…oh, how I miss that 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It sounds like you’re talking about a fantasy world! I come and go through my disaster of a garage – I bet my entire outlook on life would change dramatically if I had a dreamy porch. Guess I’ll add it to the wish list for when we start house hunting… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just think…you’re sitting on the front porch watching the 3 little ones play in the yard with your 2 dogs as your honey pulls in the drive from work. You and the little ones run over to welcome him and then you both relax on the porch watching the little ones run and laugh in the yard. You two hold hands in the swing and talk over your day…all on your dreamy fantasy porch!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. While reading this I imagined you on your front porch on a swing sipping lemonade on a balmy June afternoon with your granddaughter running around calling out her ‘Nene’ to play with her! Stay blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I loved this! almost as much as I love my very own front porch….I have the wicker swing with a ton of pillows on.a table and a few chairs for guests to sit in and we use it nine months out of the year. If I could figure a way to take a heater out there I would use it all winter too.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Nothing so fancy, but when Bonnie and I remodeled our house we added one where it had never been before. Table on one side of the Front door and a settee and two side chairs on the other. Can’t live without it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I don’t have a front porch but really wish I did and wish there were more of them. In fact, none of my neighbors in our cul-de-sac have one either. However, in the summer months, we all seem to drift out to our driveways/cul-de-sac to chat and watch all of the kids play together. Now, with all of that said I actually do enjoy my large deck in the backyard that is kind of secluded where I can have a cup of coffee and think in silence while watching the sunrise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I live in a subdivision and no one in here has one. I don’t even think our HOA would allow us to have one put on. They won’t let me have a garden or a clothesline 😒. The guys in our neighborhood seem to drift together in the warm months and watch a game in the neighbors garage and we have a patio out back. My view is of other roof lines though, which annoys me because I grew up in the country. Your secluded backyard sounds like a nice haven to relax in. I would love to see more front porches!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh my goodness, right now we are living in MI and front porches are not super common, but in Chattanooga they are everywhere! We used to have a porch with a couch and a ceiling fan…on a beautiful day having a sweet tea and a nap…sigh. Missing the south a little now!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love your front porch pictures, they are amazing. In the UK we don’t have such things, due to the weather being either cold, wet or dark a lot of the time. When I was young and lived in Singapore, and Aden, and Cyprus, I definitely remember the porches attaches to our houses. I love old American programmes where they always have a porch, usually with a swing.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

