Rescued Dresser

I hope you are just as amazed by this transformation as I am.  This is my passion!  This is what I love to do, I rescue furniture and have the best time making it pretty again.

image
Ugly brown Art Deco Dresser in need of a rescue

 I get such a sense of pride when a piece is finished.  Running around to thrift stores and second-hand stores is where I start the hunt for the right piece.  Oh and it’s a hunt because I look for quality furniture that has been discarded.  I like working with a solid wood rather than the laminates but have occasionally done that too.  I picked up this ugly brown dresser at a local thrift store.  I can’t believe someone painted this.  This is an Art Deco waterfall dresser, I would guess the age to be from the late 1930’s to early 1940’s.  I just had to get that paint off, I knew something beautiful was underneath.

image
Stripped the ugly brown paint off, still a mess

After getting that ugly paint off, I could tell this poor dresser needed some love.  Look at that poor thing so unloved for who knows how many years or decades.  I got busy sanding it down to the beautiful wood that I knew was there and I think I heard it say thank you.

image
Looking better!

Now we can see the pattern in the wood grain, isn’t it pretty?  I’m getting excited now, that’s a veneer over the plywood.  A veneer is a solid wood that is very thin, less than 1/4″ and it’s applied over top of the plywood.  What you can see on the front of the drawers is a burl wood(which is a massive ugly growth found on trees, kinda looks like the tree has a giant wort).  It makes for the prettiest patterns when sliced thin and used as a veneer.

image
Gorgeous again!!
image
Profiling!!

I am so amazed at how gorgeous this turned out!  I take my time and do it right the first time around (my mom taught me that.)  I re-stained this and added the black trim to make the wood grain pop, then added a top coat to protect it all.  I’m certain this dresser feels magnificient again.   All that’s left to do is find it a loving home to reside in.

65 thoughts on “Rescued Dresser

  1. As an antique dealer and lover of all things vintage and antique, I was happy to see how you brought this 1940s piece back to life. The matched mahogany veneer is gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. What workmanship and you did a beautiful job restoring it and updating it with the black handles. Best restore job I’ve seen all year.
    Ginene

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is such an awesome piece! It definitely brings a renewed admiration to the original craftsmen and designers. You’ve brought about a great tribute to let the world see what was covered up since who-knows-when after it had been painted. Great job in bringing this back to life!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s beautiful, I love the black. Well worth all the hard work. Not sure I could have said goodbye to it though after all you have invested in it. I never understood how artists sell their paintings, I always want to hang on to anything I’ve created, albeit on a much smaller scale, partly as a reminder that I am capable of creating something and proof that I exist!

    Like

  4. This is AMAZING!!! And I think it is such a wonderful analogy for life. Maybe all of us have pieces of ourselves that are like a discarded piece of furniture and we just need some TLC to shine again. How magnificent that you were able to restore this beautiful piece! I really admire your carefulness and patience, and your discerning eye that appreciated the masterpiece underneath the mess. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey I’m glad I provided some inspiration! It was a bit time consuming but well worth it. I sold it the same day I put it up for sale…to a neighbor so I know it’s in good hands now. You gotta get busy CG and don’t forget to show off your finished project. I would love to see it

      Like

  5. Wow, that is gorgeous!! Recently I’ve gotten into some similar projects, but more out of necessity, we wanted a new kitchen table and found one on a site that seats six with the chairs for $40 only, now i’ve just got to refinish the chairs and reupholster them! Not quite the high end looking stuff you did, but I am hoping to keep this up, it is pretty fun and relaxing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dang that’s a great deal for the table/chairs. I’m so glad you stopped in and hope you come back soon. I really appreciate and love reading everyone’s input!
      Thank you for the compliments, it means so much to read the supportive comments. I never thought I would get so much warmth and kindness. It makes my heart smile!

      Like

  6. Really gorgeous! It’s such a shame to see beautiful wood covered by paint. That said, I have some pine furniture I want to cover! Any fans of country style pine would be moaning.

    As soon as I saw the first picture of that poor old thing, I knew I had to see the transformation. How do you have the patience to get the paint out of the grooves on the handles? I’d take one look at that one and pass it up. I just don’t have the patience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I thought about sanding the grooves right off but couldn’t bring myself to do it. The paint stripper got most of the paint off and then I used a tooth pick and soft bristle brush to get off the rest. It was time consuming but I’m so glad I did it. Patience paid off for me

      Like

  7. I was blessed to watch the transformation. You did an amazing job and should be very proud. I am embarrassed at my previous comment (not here) looking at the results.

    Like

  8. That is an incredible and beautiful transformation. The wood is so lovely, and the effort you put into it is obvious. I’m always awed (and a little envious!) when someone has an artistic talent–I have none, so I especially love seeing someone’s work and care become something of beauty that the world can appreciate. I can hardly wait to see what’s next.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have no idea how much your kind words mean, thank you Wendy. Everyone’s comments have left me feeling quite proud and honored by them. They are so appreciated and I can’t wait to start something new to show y’all.

      Like

  9. Absolutely gorgeous! It is truly a gift when you can see past the scars and all that paint to the beauty which lies beneath. Oh how I wished I lived closer as I have the perfect spot for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I like nothing better than finding a poor old piece of furniture with great bones and turning it into something spectacular! Looks like you have the same bug. There is no cure I am afraid…..and eventually you will either have to purchase a larger home to put your furniture obsession in or have a ginormous yard sale…………I do the yard sales as I adore my tiny cottage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

