Doing Nothing…

Doing nothing, nothing at all. Just being still and taking it all in; the world that is. We’re made to feel guilty if we do nothing, and maybe that’s self-imposed because we’ve become accustomed to multi-tasking. Lately I feel the need to slow things down a bit so I can enjoy what’s right in front of me. I set up a lonely chair on my back patio and sit outside by myself listening to the birds and bugs. I watch the ducks down by the creek bobbing their heads in and out of the water. I notice the new buds emerging from the sleepy trees and pay attention to where the birds are busy building nests. The grass seems to get a little greener each day and I have this crazy squirrel, who comes up to the patio (as long as I sit still long enough), investigating the small wood pile we have.

image

I watch the clouds move through the sky and notice the shape they take. I remember being a kid laying in the grass staring up at the clouds and seeing all kinds of things….mountains, elephants, angels, alligators and everything else imaginable. I breathe in deeply and exhale slowly all the new freshness spring is bringing. I’m impatient for the lilac bushes to start bursting with color along with  the intoxicating scent of its flowers! And so I sit here doing nothing while the world around me is busy waking up. I love it, I love the quiet, the calmness and the stillness even though so much is happening right before my eyes.

I no longer want to be a part of the busyness people impose on themselves, the noise, the traffic, the rushing, or the negativity that comes with all of that. I am learning how to sit still and do nothing as I observe the beauty around me. Things that can’t be seen or heard while rushing. So I move with purpose now and help the old woman at the grocery store instead of rushing by her. I notice the flowers blooming on my walks and the laughter of kids playing near by. I want to fully experience life and be present in each moment.  I’m learning that by letting myself be still ocassionally I open myself up to the world/people around me. I’m becoming more calm, centered and balanced.

 

40 thoughts on “Doing Nothing…

  1. Taking a few days off and going camping does so much for me!! I love the quietness and “no electrical” signs! The crackling of burning wood is music to my ears 🙂 I live in the countryside and can have that in my backyard, but it’s a total different feeling when I camp outside

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful. Being a twenty year old who lives in a city and was surrounded by electronic gadgets and the internet from a very early age, I totally understand the need to relax. Remove yourself from your phone and your laptop and the tv and just sit for a while, doing nothing. Thank you for reminding me the importance of doing nothing. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have rightly said, we are now addicted to multitasking.I am myself now trying to slow down.That’s why now I have stopped writing for others, and started my own blog, so that I can set my own pace. I think social media and electronic gadgets are also responsible for our mind
    thinking in many directions. We should relax and enjoy quietness and solitude at least for some time.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Beautifully written, relaxing an peaceful … may I ask if you have a particular philosophical outlook or life event that’s led you to this more relaxed lifestyle?
    Thanks for the follow Gramma

    Like

    1. That’s a great question! Thanks for asking. I suppose I have two answers:
      1) I actually need quiet time to recharge myself because being in large social gatherings or any place busy and noisy will quickly drain me and stress me out.
      2) I grew up in the country with lots of animals and was surrounded by nature, not people, and I miss it. I miss that relaxed way of thinking and feeling.
      Those are the short versions of the answers but I hope it gives you a little insight into what makes me…me!

      Like

      1. I’ve learned this about myself too – and discovered recently this is a trait of introverted personality types. I NEED alone and quiet time in order to function. Actually – it is the reason I had to leave my last job. Too much stress and noise and activity and I couldn’t focus or get anything done. I was constantly exhausted! The book Quiet by Susan Cain does a good job explaining this 🙂

        Like

  5. I can really relate to this. My work day is crazy busy every single day , then I come home and have dinner with the family, check my Etsy shop, catch up with art commissions I have in progress, try and do a post ( if I’m lucky). Then I need to find some time for my husband and maybe a family game and there is no quiet, no peace no introspection going on anywhere. I know I need it – you reminded me to just go and take some time – I deserve some too. Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Holy moly are you ever busy! Absolutely go get you some peace and just breath, someone told me it was like a reminder to hit the reset button. We all need reminder ders to take care of ourselves. Glad you liked the post. I’m heading over to see what your posts are all about!

      Like

  6. This is a great way to start the week. Personally, I think spring in the best season for those who can experience it (and don’t have allergies ^^’ ). Ideally, it’s not too hot or cold, just tranquil. Thanks for sharing this story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @shmaltzandmenudo I’m so glad this helped you get your week started! Spring is an amazing season but it sounds like you might have allergies?? Please come back soon, I appreciate your feedback!

      Like

      1. Hi Maria! I’m glad it was a nice reminder for you and thanks for stopping by my site. This course is a nice way to bring to light blogs I may never have come across. I’m very interested in reading through more of yours later this evening.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. It seems that when you are “doing nothing” you are taking more in than almost anyone who is doing something. In addition to doing nothing, you seem to be being patient, aware, present, kind, warm and so much more. I can’t match those traits. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @dream4fun Sometimes doing nothing is very hard because we have learned to be as busy as we can in order to get more done. Quicker, faster and right now have become normal. Thank you for the kind words, I appreciate them!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Such a post always makes everyone’s day start at the right note. The aesthetic value of this post is way high and this is something which we all miss in the hustle and bustle of modern life. Great job. Loved it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a beautiful post … I’m glad that I found your blog thru the Commenting Bootcamp. I’m a Yoga instructor and I often tell my students that the hardest thing they will do in class is not some pretzel-y pose, it’s finding the quiet present moment with no multi-tasking, no “popcorn mind”, and no worrying about getting somewhere or accomplishing something. Just be-ing. I’m looking forward to following your blog and your thoughts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @thebaseballbloggess I’m so glad you enjoyed it! It’s very encouraging to see such nice comments and to know that others have similar feelings. Thank you for following, I’ll need to check out your blog as well. I do like yoga and fully understand the “pretzel-y” part :mrgreen:, I haven’t quite figured out why yoga seems to help me feel calmer but I’m glad it does. (I’m a beginner at it)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. @citse I’m amazes me at how busy people have become or maybe i should say how busy we allow ourselves to become. Thank you for the compliment, it’s nice to have positive feedack. Is there anything you do that helps slow down time a bit?

      Like

      1. Sometimes when it’s really busy at work, I’d literally stop everything for 5mins and just breathe. Staring at the seascape helps (I work offshore), but if this escape isnt possible, I sit at my desk and stare at nothing for a bit. I may look like a malfunctioning robot to my colleagues, but it’s my personal reset button and it works 🙂

        Like

        1. I like that…a reset button. We all need that! It’s nice that the water helps you “reset”. I’m afraid for me it would bring to life every anxiety I have. I’m a land lover and terribly afraid of the vast openness of large bodies of water. I see people who are out there as quite brave.

          Like

          1. No bravery here! I’m a walking contradiction: love being out there yet can’t swim – absolutely scares me; love the vertigo in helicopters yet I’m afraid of heights. Guess I just have faith in man-made machines 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

