Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Dresser

One year of blogging!  It’s a blog-aversary so I thought I’d re-blog the original that got me started on this journey.  Up-cycling or repurposing has become quite popular and I’m sooo glad! I’m a huge fan of it because I feel I’ve been doing this all my life.  And it just feels like the right thing to do, you know save the planet and all.  Plus I’ll admit I feel like a bit of a furniture super hero when I take something that’s falling apart and, wah-laaaa, make it beautiful again.

image
Straight from the thrift store

It’s not for everyone though, lots of planning involved, probably should have a wee bit of creativity,  the ability to pay attention and being super handy.  Me, I look at something broken and think, “I can fix that and make it better than it was.” It’s a challenge! That might actually be ingrained into a woman’s DNA…I can fix that.  What woman hasn’t dated that one guy and thought, “I’ll be the one to straighten him out.” Seriously?

image
Hand painted turtle masks!

Anyway, I find a piece I can work with and make it pretty again. Once that part is finished my anxiety kicks in along with self-doubt.  No one is going to like this, everyone will judge it and it will never sell. Anyone have those thoughts? No, just me, ok.  I didn’t realize these turtles were popular again.

36 thoughts on “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Dresser

  1. I love it! That was one of my favorite shows as a kid.

    I’m also really glad that upcycling/reusing has become popular lately — it’s such a cost-saving measure 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I didn’t know kids liked them again. One of my favorite hobbies is rescuing discarded items and restoring them. Some people bring home stray dogs…I bring home stray furniture!

      Like

  2. I went through a phase like this, only not quite as creative. Sanders and dust and something new out of something old. Then I refinished the kitchen cabinets and somehow lost my taste for it!

    Great job! particularly with the turtles!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the compliment! Tackling kitchen cabinets is brave, I’m not sure I could so bravo to you!! Probably why I stick to smaller projects😄. Did the cabinets turn out how you wanted them to?

      Like

  3. That’s amazing! But I know how you feel, thinking whether anyone will actually like anything I like, or make. The life of an artist 🙂 but you’ve got amazing skills. So don’t be shy

    Like

  4. Hmmm, I think I’m going to need a bigger place to store “new” projects. I love flea markets and my husband loves talking me out of going, haha, he’s a good sport though and is quite handy.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind words. I really have a lot of fun doing these projects and to think I stumbled onto a passion accidentally when I transformed an old wooden rocker for my grand daughter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

